Rodgers beats Brees in MVP landslide

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers received 48 of 50 votes to win the 2011 NFL MVP.

Although he got a little competition late in the year, Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers handily defeated all challengers in voting for the 2011 NFL MVP. Rodgers received 48 votes from a panel of 50 Associated Press voters, earning his first MVP award by beating New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees (2 votes).

Rodgers compiled 4,643 passing yards, 45 touchdowns and six interceptions and an NFL record 122.5 passer rating in only 15 games (he rested for the playoffs in Week 17). He added 257 rushing yards and three rushing touchdowns for the Packers, which finished 15-1 for the first time in franchise history.

It seems fair that Brees received some votes considering his 5,476 passing yards shattered Dan Marino’s single-season record. The Saints finished 13-3 and Brees threw 46 touchdowns against 14 interceptions, but he did attempt 657 passes — 152 more than Rodgers.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011 candidates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s